So apparently I’m distinguished!

Posted: November 5, 2012 in Uncategorized

Apparently after being a postdoc for just about 2 years I’m distinguished enough to be invited to speak at an eminent international conference….unfortunately the conference is a “BIT Life Science World Congress” based in China. I’m particularly enamored by the fact that at last years BIT world congress there were 200 speakers, 100 posters and 300+ participants…I think you can do the math.

I also love the line in the follow-up email I was sent after I didn’t respond to the initial email: “Maybe there some problems with my mailbox and I haven’t received your kindly reply yet”…..hmmm, yea, seems like they think I’m British!

Oh yea and: “On behalf of the organizing committee, we cordially invite you to deliver a brilliant speech”…but don’t you dare deliver a lame ass speech, that shit will get you thrown in jail!

 

 

 

 

Comments
  1. Dr. Dad, PhD says:

    Congratulations! I found out that I’m big in China, too!

    I think I’ve been invited to at least 8 conferences in the past 6 months. Strange that a lot of them require you to pay for everything upfront before confirming my speaking role…. 😛

  2. Johnd13 says:

    Very well written article. It will be helpful to anyone who usess it, as well as yours truly eafdbdddkegd

Leave a Reply

