Damn Yankees

Posted: April 10, 2011 in About the author, Life in the UK

In keeping with a recent baseball themed post, and given that it is the beginning of the baseball season, I wanted to note how utterly obnoxious I find it that everywhere I look here in the UK, I see New York Yankees kit (that’s UK for gear or stuff for my US readers). Like any honest, hard working American, I despise the Yankees. I will always be a brief secondary fan of the team that is playing against the Yanks. Even if my team loses, if the Yankees also lose, well the day could have been worse. Few things in sports give me more pleasure than seeing the Yankees lose in the playoffs (or not make the playoffs at all!). Whenever I see someone wearing a Yankees hat or t-shirt here in Britain, I want to yell at them “The Yankees suck! They represent all that is putrid about America!” (although I have to say, the Mets have been giving them a run for the money in that category lately).

Now the Brits cannot be entirely blamed for baseball fans here wearing Yankees kit. When I go to the sporting goods stores in the UK, there are very few options when it comes to purchasing baseball paraphernalia (and can you blame the stores? This country is absolutely football (soccer) crazy!). The large majority of baseball hats are Yankees hats, followed by a handful of Boston Red Sox and LA Dodgers hats. But the Red Sox would be a better choice than the Yankees (well I suppose any team would be an improvement, except maybe the Indians)…and the Dodgers, well, one can’t help but feel sorry for them given the past couple of years surviving through the tail end of the Manny Ramirez saga. So there are some options. There is also the internet, so one can buy kit from any given MLB team. At the end of the day, there are really no good excuses for unabashedly supporting the evil empire.

Needless to say, I am proud to walk around the UK displaying my favorite MLB team kit…and who knows, perhaps I’ll make some converts to support a team worthy of an international presence!

 

Comments
  1. Worm Pilot says:

    I imagine this is what the Brits think when they come here and a few Americans wearing Man United stuff. 😉

  2. I was just gonna say the same thing – everywhere you go (in the world, not just the US), people wear Man Utd shirts and it drives me NUTS. I HATE Man Utd.

  3. Donalbain says:

    I don’t know if it helps, but the wearing of the NYY caps is not any statement of affiliation with the team with those initials. Indeed, I would be surprised if more than half the people wearing the hats knew what sport the team played and I would be even more surprised if even half of those had ever watched that sport being played by ANY team, let alone the NYY fellows.

Leave a Reply

