No respect for Ped X

Posted: March 9, 2011 in Life in the UK

One of the many things that has surprised both my wife and I upon moving to the UK is the lack of regard in the country for pedestrians. Unlike most places in the states (Boston excluded), pedestrians have the right-of-way at intersections. However, here in the UK, pedestrians rarely have the right-of-way. The only exception I can find to this is at odd places in which blinking bulbs are posted above the street near speed bumps (weird, I know…but you could break dance in the middle of the street there and the cars would stop).

Unfortunately, this is one of the few things I have a very hard time holding my tongue about as cars almost smack me while walking on a SIDEWALK! Yes, that’s right, I’m walking on a sideWALK and the cars pulling into driveways don’t give pedestrians the right of way (and it’s not like these are busy streets mind you). On more than one occasion I’ve had several choice words for these folks as I tempt the drivers by almost walking in front of them. For this reason I consider myself a bit lucky for moving to the UK in the winter because people are not driving with their windows down. If windows had been down no doubt I would have already had the opportunity to get into my first altercation with a Brit in which we would scream profanities at each other but not understand a damn word the other is saying because of our mutually ridiculous accents that inevitably come out when pissed off. So I’m working on holding my tongue in time for spring, but I don’t know if I’ll be able to control my middle finger…

Leave a Reply

